CLLAS Executive Board members Gabriela Martínez and Ellen McWhirter among UO’s 2016 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Award winners

Gabriela Martínez

Gabriela Martínez

Ellen McWhirter

Ellen McWhirter

See story in Around the O

Two CLLAS executive board members are among the recipients of the University of Oregon’s 2016 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Award. They are:

  • Gabriela Martínez, associate professor in the School of Journalism and Communication.
  • Ellen McWhirter, Ann Swindells Professor in the Department of Counseling Psychology.

The awards recognize university classified staff, faculty and officers of administration whose contributions to the campus community, beyond typical job expectations, also uphold and exemplify ideals supported by Martin Luther King, Jr. This year’s Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Awards winners were selected based on nominations from campus colleagues.

Our congratulations to this year’s recipients, who also include Lara Bovilsky, Darren Johnson, Kevin Marbury, and Naomi Zack. All will be honored at an awards ceremony on January 20 at the Ford Alumni Center Ballroom.

Tuesday, January 5th, 2016 Advisory Board, Awards



Upcoming Events

8/13 - Latino Roots exhibit at PK Park
8/26 - Latino Roots exhibit at Father Bernard Youth & Retreat Center (Mt. Angel)